Honda Civic Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
And yet again my honda lets me down! A big list of failures however, most of em being small.

I'm gonna fix them with stock parts cos I can't afford to put performance parts on yet! Here's a lovely list of failures (some I think way too strict...):

001 Offside obligatory mirror insecure
002 (High idle speed) emissions not tested <--- i didnt think this was ever a failure? lol
003 Nearside headlamp aim too low
004 Nearside rear (top) torque/reaction arm has a deteriorated rubber bush resulting in excessive movement
005 Service break efficiency below requirements (46% which I think is BS cos I race and always find breaking fine).
006 Exhaust blown at joint (they dont state which joint lol)

So what you guys reckon? Too strict or?... I'm sending it off to a friend of mine he's a good mechanic to fix it on Tuesday. </3

·
Registered
22 Posts
way too strict i work in a garage that test mot's and i wasnt aware that high idle speed was a reason for failure or a reason not to test the emissions , all the rest are routine things that happen over time ,

·
Registered
4,092 Posts
It does sound a little bit harsh to be fair mate! Nothing major so i wouldnt worry about it :)

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Well, when I touch the acceleration it sticks around 1,500 - 2,000 and then if I tap the accel. again it goes back down.

·
Registered
7,629 Posts
sorry mate your idle is a fail , just get it sorted but it should have had an emission test regardless of this.
the rest is run of the mill stuff .

this is direct out of the testers manual under reasons for rejection:
A. All vehicles

1. The engine
a. is idling at a speed clearly above its normal idling speed

b. emits dense blue or clearly visible black smoke for a continuous period of 5 seconds at idle