Honda Civic Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

As the subject says I'm a newbie to this forum, and I'm contemplating buying a 5th gen civic. . . any pointers before I go out a get one?

Matty

·
Premium Member
14,118 Posts
Hay there matty, welcome to the forum. When you say 5th gen civic do you mean hatch, coupe or saloon as different pointer go with different models

·
Premium Member
14,118 Posts
Ahh.... well normal things like, check for rust on the arches as they are quite bad for that. Ermmm.... What size engine you going for 1.3, 1.5 1.6 vti????? Im guessing you might be looking for the 1.5 as they are cheap insurance but still good to mod.

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yeah your pretty much right, looking for either a 1.5 or a 1.6, got several insurance quotes which aren't too bad.
Found a lot of 1.6's with rust on the arches like you said, and i was just wondering weather rust is easy enough to deal with. . . baring in mind that I want to respray at some point.

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Fair play.
I was also wondering weather its worth investing in anti-roll bars, i am right in thinking that these just reduce the cars flexibility?

·
Registered
7,629 Posts
mathewp80 said:
its pretty easy to deal with rust mate , i just sanded down the back arches and sprayed them again :cool:
right the only way you will deal with rust is cut it out , you will slow it down by sanding it etc but you will never get rid with out removing the piece thats gone completely.
Matty_89 said:
Fair play.
I was also wondering weather its worth investing in anti-roll bars, i am right in thinking that these just reduce the cars flexibility?
anti roll bars are a fine investment they are used to reduce body roll ,
flexibility if your talking body flex can only be reduced with roll cages or fully seem welding the whole monocoque up which is a mamoth task and very specialized.

·
Premium Member
14,118 Posts