Honda Civic Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
780 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The following guide was written after installing suspension on an 89 CRX, 91 civic, 95 civic and 97 civic, so should cover fitting for all models from 88-00, as far as i know there are no major differences between each model. Also i don't accept responsibility for DIY installation.

Please excuse the grammar as I'm only an engineering student, not English student :cool:

Tools
14, 17, 19mm sockets
14, 17, 19mm spanners
WD40
wire brush
hammer
punch
Jack
AXEL STANDS
spring compressors

Note: wiggle is an engineering term do not confuse it with a pole-dancing move!! :'(

Front

Jack the car up and securely fit the axle stands, away from the wishbones so they don't hinder the work required.

Remove the wheel

Find the two bolts that will be removed, the first is the one that connects the fork to the bottom of the damper, spray plenty of WD-40 on here. The second bolt connects the fork to the lower wishbone, this fork travels either side of the drive shaft and is approx 8 inches long, so very easy to find. Make sure you get plenty of lube on each end of this bolt.

Using the 17mm socket and spanner undo the lower of these two bolts, you may need to use your foot as they will be stiff, don't worry about using too much force as they wont brake, they will probably be a bit rusty inside. Having undone it, use the punch and hammer to tap this bolt out, don't worry if you get the punch stuck in the hole, it will wiggle free eventually.

Using the 14mm socket undo the second bolt, this will need to be pulled out, and has a captive nut so no need to worry about the other end. Now wiggle the fork until it falls off the damper, you may need to tap it with a hammer if its quite rusty.

Remove the fork.

If the brake pipe is connected to the damper at any point, remove this now as it could get damaged if left connected. To do this just remove the 10mm bolts and it will hang in the air.