Honda Civic Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey people newbie here, ive bought a cheap civic today with a problem, expansion bottle boils over when hot,

both coolant hoses get hot and the fan cuts in and continues to run, while this happens the temprature guage rises and after a while the system builds up pressure and the coolant in the expansion boils over

is this the headgasket gone?

any info would be great thanks :)

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
was on idle, but took about 30-45mins for this to happen, the previous owner said it did it after about a hours drive and he pulled up at his home and then saw the coolant boil over onto the floar

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
forgot to say, the previous owner replaced the thermostat with a genuine honda one and has tried afew different radiator caps aswell

·
Registered
780 Posts
the head bolts are very expensive from honda, mine ran in at £9.80+vat per bolt, when you need ten, thats about £130 worth!!

if your gunna push the car then yes get new bolts, but if not then just use the old ones, they will be fine.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
i got a head set and head bolts for £92 this morning

ive put them on today, what a nightmare taking off the bottom pulley off, anyway the fan now cuts in and out properly and didnt overheat, i finished at 9 just before it got dark, so ill give her a proper run tomorrow as i noticed the bottom crank pulley looked abit wonky as the engine was running so i want to recheck this first make sure ive fitted it correctly, fingers crossed :)

·
Registered
780 Posts
check there's no dirt behind the face of the pulley, so it runs fine, the worst that will happen is that you will get a lumpy idle due to vibration, or the belts that run off it will wear more quickly, other wise hope all is good and its ok from now on!

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #13