Honda Civic Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yo folks, i recieved a JBL BTX-250 Bass Tube (as far as i know, could be a different model) from one of my m8s, i didnt think it was giving out any bass which i was correct about. All the bass is coming from my 6x9's. Everything is wired up fine, have the REM (little blue wire) connected to the headunit, the L and R audio cables connected to the Sub-W slots in the back o the head-unit and obviously the power and ground are in the correct place.

I opened up the sub and the cables are on nicely. I also noticed that bass DOES come from the tube, but only when i push the Subs speaker in by about a few millimeters, as soon as i let go the bass stops :S Anyone got any idea how to solve this problem ?

Im an electrical engineer in the making but it beats me, the only other suggestion i had...was that the problem might be inside the speaker itself but its 'i think' impossible to get the speaker out, i can see screws but cant access them from the front end. >:-(

*Edit - I managed to download a manual for the sub, which will allow me to take the speaker out and have a look

·
Registered
36 Posts
Hey buddy, first of all, is the light on the amp powering up? (if there is one), if not, attach the remote wire to a live to see if the amp powers up. also check the fuses on the amp and the live cable. Try connecting your RCA's to another output on the back of your headunit. What headunit you got?

If your saying that the bass kicks when pressure is applied to the sub, it might be that the voice coils have gone on the sub itself.

HTH
Raj

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I thought of that twatnav LOL !!!