Honda Civic Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I have a [1994 L reg 1.6 civic ESi VTEC automatic] and need some advice on several problems I have with it. I have taken it to the garage several times with money wasted and little success so it looks like I will have to learn how to fix it myself. I'm no mechanic but I've bought a haynes manual and some basic tools. If I need any spares or tools please mention this and I'll get hold of them (ebay for this?).

1) The first and most serious is a non-starting issue. It's a little complicated but basically if I do more than one or two very short journeys the car won't start again and I have to sit for about two minutes then try again, at which point it normally starts. When this happens you can hear the starter turning over ok- although often it sounds very slow. Sometimes the engine starts and then after about two seconds it dies again. Once again, I wait about one or two minutes and try again and it works. I can visualise a battery problem, as if there just isn't enough juice to turn it over fast enough. If the engine fires though wouldn't that keep the momentum? Also the battery's been checked by two garages and they both said it's fine and the garage that sold it to me said it was new about 18 months ago. I know you can get bigger batteries but I'm not sure that's what it is. I thought perhaps something is taking too much current such as dirty contacts, distributor or spark plug gaps too big etc? Just a guess!

2) When the engine is first started it sometimes settles into very high revs (e.g. 1500rpm) as if I'm putting my foot down and sometimes very low revs (650rpm). I haven't noticed a pattern yet and don't know if it's significant but it doesn't seem right. Sometimes the starter fires the engine almost instantaneously and sometimes it sounds close to death and starts very slowly.